Keep Training

There are some days that I feel like I am fighting a losing battle.  How many times do I have to remind my kids to wash the dishes or complete other basic chores.  They are too old for chore charts and star stickers.  Those worked great when they were younger, but now I feel like I’m failing at teaching them how to live independently.  Will their own kitchen always look this messy?  Maybe so, but I won’t have to look at it when I come home from work each day.  And as I continued grumbling under my breath, I am struck by the thought that I am also having to always be reminded of simple things in my own life.  God is continually training me to respond better to others, to love Felicia more intentionally, and to parent out of love and truth.  He’s still working on me and hopes that I won’t act this way when I’m on my own when I enter heaven!  Keep training your kids and keep training yourself.

Psalm 144:1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment