Be Intentional

This has been one of those exhausting-on-every-level kinds of week!  Some of the load has been fun and some has been soul-wrenching.  A typical week, right?  Yet this week has had the extremes on both ends which leads to mental, emotional, and spiritual exhaustion.  And I wouldn’t trade any of it because of the underlying resolve that I am doing exactly what God has called me to do.  I love being a husband, a father, and a family minister.  In each of these roles I find joy, but knowing the fact that God is the fullest source of strength for me is what keeps me walking forward in each area.  It’s a reflection on my parents and my childhood.  I am deeply rooted in my faith because of the intentionality my parents took with me to point me to Jesus.  One of my favorite moments as a child was when my Dad would sing to us on several occasions, “Turn your eyes upon Jesus, Look full in His wonderful face, And the things of earth will grow strangely dim, In the light of His glory and grace.”  It’s a strong reminder for me to parent this way even more so now with my own kids, because 20 years from now, they will have an extremely difficult week and will need to know where to look for strength.

Colossians 2:7

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment