Scripture to Remember

As a child, I remember memorizing Bible verses for church.  It was a vital part of my spiritual growth early on and I also went on a few summer mission trips in high school where Scripture memory was part of our daily routine. These verses come back to me often and it’s a wonderful gift for me and sometimes those around me in that situation. My parention was to make sure my kids had this same experience. We enrolled them in AWANA which is a great ministry that focuses on memorizing verses. Every year in VBS, there was a key verse that we put to song and our kids loved the SEEDS Family Worship CD’s. Yet, now as a parent of teenagers and me being older myself, this has not been a priority. It’s harder for me to memorize names even at this point, let alone a passage of Scripture. I wonder if I have stalled my kids’ spiritual development by not keeping this practice up over the years? Yet, we can always start anew today. My goal this next season is to choose a few verses for our family to memorize together. Maybe it’s a Proverb or maybe a theologically important verse. I’ve rarely posed a question on this blog, but what are some of the verses you remember most or have given you help in a moment of trouble? I’ve got a few starters in mind, but I’d love to compile a list to start.

Psalm 119:11

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment